Back to School

So, it’s the first week back to school (not for me for little one) and the week has been a bit crazy. Surprise visits from friends, which is always nice. Finishing and packaging up the cartloads of knitting I finished for Ruth & Belinda. Check out their gorgeous yarns and patterns: Here, their stuff is so yummy. Hope you have a skein winder though ;).

I’ve been spinning again… Let me explain. Last week I went to see some family in Launceston. They aren’t from Launceston, but it’s a half-way point between where I live and where my mum lives… Anyway, we had a lovely day and I ended up visiting a gorgeous store called The Cornwall Yarn Shop, which is WELL worth a visit, has a gorgeous selection yarns to suit most budgets and/or fantasies, buttons and knitting paraphernalia galore, and as it was my birthday I treated myself.

20130906-110941.jpg

These are, from left to right, Fiberspates Scrumptious Lace in Cherry, Artesano Hummingbird 100% alpaca and 2 skeins of Manos Lace (Baby Alpaca, Silk and Cashmere). I was at a loss as to whether catching the bus on time was more or less important than staying in the shop. Anyway… Whilst we were there, my mum spotted a shawl she loved, and I have agreed to make it for here for Christmas.

20130906-112851.jpg

It’s the Flamenco by Anniken Allis, pattern available on Ravelry

So, I’m now on the search for the right colours, which is tricky. I bought four balls of regia, which I then decided wasn’t quite right, and now I am trying to spin my own. Which I am aware is a bad idea but I do love the colours so far

20130906-113053.jpg

I got the tops from a fair a few months ago, but was planning on felting with it until I discovered spinning. I am also planning on experimenting with these:

20130906-113210.jpg

Scrummy colour ways from etsy store Justadaydream. So I have got plenty to get on with before the lace show next week. 😉

xXx

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

