Local Adventures in Ceramics.

I’m working on another project for the next term, and I am to be inspired by the great works of Grayson Perry. He’s a modern british artist of renown and won the Turner prize in 2003, which I actually remember watching on the television. It was probably my first experience with Fine Art, and certainly sparked something, not least because of what he wore!

Anyway, I like to look at materials when I am working on a project, and though I plan to visit London next weekend for more primary research, Plymouth Museum has an excellent collection of Ceramics which I took small to take a look at.

Image

 

This is a Barbers bowl from London in The early to mid 1700’s. The illustrations on it are just lovely, and something I have really noticed with Grayson Perry’s work is the illustrative nature of it, and the real sense of narrative, that often seems to come from a very Dark place. Using that kind of imagery on a day-to day object like a vase is unobtrusive but meaningful, in a way most can access.

 

 

 

Image

Image

 

Again, I particularly like these pieces from Holland for their unobtrusive nature, and dainty imagery. I imagine this was not seen as Kitsch in it’s day, as we think of it as purely a modern invention, in fact created by the mass-manufacture of objects such as these. It’s hard though, after visiting a few ancient stately homes, to imagine this being displayed in such an opulent space such as a Bristish Royal’s home.

 

 

Image

 

Stoneware is heavier and different in colour to other Ceramic. and is common in chinese artefacts, being more decorative than decorated, as you can sort-of see from the image (This peice was in a bit of a dark corner). Still a lot of potential, possibly for creating 3-D forms and integrating them into a garment. We do, after all have the facilities at the college, I might be able to use them.

Image

The Bristol Factory of Ceramics actually originally resided in Plymouth, though only for a matter of months.

Plymouth Museum is really a fantastic place, I also very much enjoyed the Women in Art Exhibition, where, unfortunately, no photography was allowed. Believe me though it was worth the (albiet short) trip into town.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

