‘Plain’ Triangular Shawl

20140415-153030.jpg

I picked up this schoppel Wolle Lace Ball for half price at a closing down sale. It’s so crazy bright I wanted to keep the garment plain so I’ve stuck to the most basic of basic triangular shawl constructions with no extras. My very first knit project was a chunky shawl of similar construction and it recently went missing on a night out 😦 so this is my kind of replacement. I’m planning a stretchy bind off to finish for this project, which I think I’m going to finish in the next few days, but I might put off blocking it until my new blocking wires arrive 🙂

The yarn itself is really lovely. I’ve previously been very wary of single ply yarns and might not have touched a lace weight for fear it would just fall apart or fuzz too much, but the halo on this yarn is very delicate in comparison with even plied yarns. The colours are magnificent, and though my stripes vary (mostly because if the increases), it works very well. It’s also very warm, and though it might flatten more in blocking, I quite like the curly, cuddly aspect to the fabric, it’s incredibly tactile without it getting up your nose like softer fibres do sometimes.

I’m still looking out for the Schoppel Wolle Zauberball sock weight for a Daybreak by Stephen West. In particular I want the Tropical Fish colour way, as I LOVE this project by Redpepperquilts.

20140415-154707.jpg

Maybe that’s too much rainbow, but I have so many neutrals around me at the moment I think I’m craving colour.

xXx

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to ‘Plain’ Triangular Shawl

  1. soknitsome says:

    I think many of us crave colour after the winter. The colours in your Schoppel lace shawl are great and I can see why you’re drawn to Redpepperquilts’ Daybreak. 🙂

Leave a Reply

