A Tentative FO and an Experimental MKAL

This morning I finished knitting this:

IMG_0981.JPG

In case you are wondering, I based the image on Little Man’s favourite character from a family favourite, ‘Kiki’s Delivery Service’. The titular characters mascot, a sarcastic black cat is called JiJi, and we love him, so this jumper has been a big hit. I used Rowan Big Wool from a sale (ages ago) at my LYS, and some Rico Eco Chunky (doubled up, as it’s really more of an aran weight) from my stash, so it’s been quite the stash buster. I used this pattern as a base, though the gauge changed, I knitted the sleeves in the round, changed the neckline shaping and finishing completely, and knitted some ribbing around the hemline. It’s fairly different I think.

IMG_0709.PNG
My favourite of the Birthstone Shawls, another series from Fiddle Knits.

So, my next project is the Family Tree Shawl, by Fiddle Knits as part of the You & I Shawl series. I finished my Catkin some time ago, and am really enjoying my textural shawls at the moment so when I saw this I was pretty excited to see what the MKAL would bring.

IMG_0982.JPG

The yarns I’ve chosen I’m a little tentative about, as they are very different. It’s Drops Baby Merino in Grey, and a lovely skein of Noro Sock (which was, as ever, hell to wind). The first clue came out yesterday, -and it was very hard to soldier on with the jumper and wait to cast on, but I’m going to do so now I’ve finished something and can justify it. Wish me luck!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Tentative FO and an Experimental MKAL

  1. kiwiyarns says:

    Love it!! Jiji was one of our favourite characters too. I just loved his sassy attitude. You’ve made a perfect replica of him! So glad you son looks appropriately happy!

Leave a Reply

