New LARP, New Costume (What can I knit??)

I’m thinking about a new event. Namely Empire, a festival style Live Action Roleplay which welcomes families and sets a high standard of costume for it’s players and itself. It’s a fun challenge I really want to get my teeth stuck into and I’m really excited, so I’ve been Pinteresting and sketching some ideas 🙂

I love this long and flowy style thats potentially Brass Coast, which had lovely features but is still cut in a slightly western style. Link to the Etsy page

I like the look of a Nation called “Brass Coast”, It’s pseudo Arabic in style but with specific game world twists, though it is very similar in ethic to another group I have played before, and I really want a change. In honesty, I think no matter what I do I’ll have fun, so I’m going to try not to over think it too much. One thing I struggle with with costume, is Knit/Crochet elements. I am a knit fiend, and want to incorporate into all my costume somewhere, but where? Even though the technique is thousands of years old, many modern designs simply look too modern for a Period RP context. Shawls are great, as well as trims, bags and gloves, I also like some socks (Though I have a bit of a love hate relationship with socks). I’ve found some lovely patterns of ravelry, but i’m not 100% sure how right they are yet.

I love this jacket as a kind of Surcoat, but think it might be batter for a man (Also sadly the pattern does not come in my size but thats possible to remedy)

I love this jacket as a kind of Surcoat, but think it might be batter for a man (Also sadly the pattern does not come in my size but thats possible to remedy)

These Gloves are a free pattern on Knitty and only use 50g of 4-ply. Perfect as a delicate hand covering delicate lady (lolz)

 

Queen of the Underworld by the incredibly talented Magdalena Kubatek

Queen of the Underworld by the incredibly talented Magdalena Kubatek

I’ve got a lot more thinking to do, first and foremost deciding what I’m playing, and also deciding if I really want to put so much effort into one character for my first event (Living dangerously incase my character dies 😉 ). Back to the drawing board for ideas 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment